About the Liberty the Second:
After the Liberty the Second sank it remained on the bottom of Conneaut Lake in 48' of water and 6' of silt for 63 years (22,945 days). In July of 1985 the boat was raised by divers William H. Houghton and Bryan Simpson.
Museum hours are from 1 p.m. - 6 p.m. on Saturdays and Sundays
Visit the museum when at Conneaut Lake Park.
Originally, Hotel Conneaut boasted 300 guest rooms. Room rates were $1.00 per day and meals were only $.35. The shows were water skiers, music and dancers. Many famous people stayed here.
On April 29th 1943 the hotel was struck by lightening and the resulting fire destroyed more than half the roof. Unable to obtain permission ro replace the damaged roof due to World War II, the damaged section was demolished resulting in a remodeled hotel of 150 rooms.
Today the hotel Conneaut is the only hotel in operation at Conneaut Lake and the last surving of over a dozen hotels that once stood in Conneaut Lake Park.
In 2003 Hotel Conneaut celebrated a century of hospitality.
What has not changed in 100 years is Hotel Conneaut's timeless charm, tranquility, and draw to those seeking escapism from this ever-changing, fast paced world. Hotel Conneaut is a solid link to the past.
May 24th, 2013!