Before Hotel Conneaut was built, the Exposition Hotel stood on the site. In 1903, one wing of the Exposition Hotel was used in the construction of Hotel Conneaut and still stands to this day.
Originally, Hotel Conneaut boasted 300 guest rooms. Room rates were $1.00 per day and meals were only $.35. The shows were water skiers, music and dancers. Many famous people stayed here.
On April 29th 1943 the hotel was struck by lightening and the resulting fire destroyed more than half the roof. Unable to obtain permission ro replace the damaged roof due to World War II, the damaged section was demolished resulting in a remodeled hotel of 150 rooms.
Today the hotel Conneaut is the only hotel in operation at Conneaut Lake and the last surving of over a dozen hotels that once stood in Conneaut Lake Park.
In 2003 Hotel Conneaut celebrated a century of hospitality.
What has not changed in 100 years is Hotel Conneaut's timeless charm, tranquility, and draw to those seeking escapism from this ever-changing, fast paced world. Hotel Conneaut is a solid link to the past.